Engaging Body and Soul:  Cultivating Feminine Wisdom by Tahseen Béa  – so far, a brilliant book.  Béa has such a way with words.  This is not a theory book or a spiritual book, but it is a bit of both.  Béa invites you into an ongoing conversation she has with Julia Kristeva, H.D., bell hooks, Audre Lorde, Ana Castillo and other women writers about cultivating feminine wisdom.  It occurs to me that some people might think of feminine wisdom as a contradiction – in terms of emotional/rational.  In fact, many people do see the two terms in opposition to one another,  but Béa certainly invites you to reconsider.  Her writing is intelligent without being intelligentsia.  Even if you have no familiarity with the writers, Béa gives intimate portraits and frames her discussion for laypersons.  The real achievement of the technical side of the book is that no matter your level of engagement with theory or spirituality, or the writers, you will be engaged in the conversation.  I really love Béa’s writing style: she immediately engages me, immediately gives me reasons to trust her as a writer on a journey, and I feel comfortable and confident as she leads me through her enormous ideas.  Reading it is not only giving me a familiarization with writers we don’t often encounter in any literary canon, she is also challenging me to approach my own personal everyday rituals with a different sort of attention.  I am loving this book!

Sexes and Geneologies by Luce Irigaray – This is a collection of Irigaray’s lectures on sex and gender, psychology, religion, and spirituality.  I made one attempt to get through these earlier in the year, and just couldn’t do it.  It was a collection recommended to me, and if you have ever read any of Irigaray’s writing, you know that she requires a certain level of focus and attention.  She is a brilliant and sensitive woman, and I have a great deal of respect for her and her ideas.  So, I am attempting this one again – attempting to give it and myself a second chance!

William Shakespeare’s Star Wars: Verily, A New Hope and William Shakespeare’s The Clone Army Attacketh Star Wars Part the Second by Ian Doescher – Doescher is clearly a man with a lot of time on his hands, but aren’t I thankful for it!!  This is Star Wars like you’ve never seen it before.  One of the Womenchildren got me these for Christmas – because thoughtful children have I.  Star Wars in iambic pentameter!!!  Who could ask for anything more??  Not this nerd girl!

I also have Margaret Atwood’s The Robber Bride and Maddadam on tap!!

